En partenariat avec CRID Peuples Solidaires

"Shell, GDF Suez and Samsung win the Pinocchio Awards 2014!"

Paris, November 18th 2014 – After the launch of the public vote on October 9th, Friends of the Earth France, in partnership with Peuples Solidaires – ActionAid France and CRID (Research and Information Centre for Development), put an end to the suspense at the Pinocchio Awards prize-giving ceremony this evening at La Java (Paris) and announced 2014’s big winners: Shell, GDF Suez and Samsung (1).
This year, a new record was set for the number of votes: over 61,000 votes in total, which demonstrates citizens’ growing outrage about the severe impact multinational corporations’ activities are having on society and the environment.

 

Winners 2014 - Pinocchio Awards

 

The pictures of the public award ceremony are available here (© Alexandre Devos).


Shell won hands down for the Pinocchio award category “One for all and all for me!” (2), with 43% of the vote, for the development of shale gas projects across the entire world, except in Holland, its home country, subject to a moratorium. While this multinational company, like other big oil majors, prides itself on conducting its operations in accordance with “ambitious principles”, the reality observed on the ground, particularly in Argentina and the Ukraine, is quite different: lack of consultation with the population, wells drilled in a natural protected area and on farmland, toxic well-water reservoirs left out in the open, and lack of financial transparency, to name a few examples.


In the category “Greener than green” (3), the Pinocchio award was received by GDF Suez with 42% of the vote for its “green bonds”. Last May, this French energy giant proudly announced that it had issued the biggest “green bond” ever made by a private company, collecting 2.5 billion Euros from private investors to finance its so-called clean energy projects. However, on closer examination, no clear social or environmental criteria are associated with these “green” bonds, and the company has not published a list of the projects it has financed. It could even be using this money for destructive projects, such as large dams, like the one in Jirau (Brazil) the company mentioned as an example, and, furthermore, it is continuing to invest heavily in fossil fuels.


Finally, with 40 % of the vote, the Pinocchio award for the category “Dirty hands, full wallet” (4) was given to Samsung for the disgraceful working conditions in its product-manufacturing factories in China: excessive working hours, pitiful wages and child labour, to cite just a few examples. Despite repeated inquiries and questioning civil society, as well as the filing of a complaint in France, this technology market-leader persistently denies these accusations. The company should face up to reality and implement some practical measures to improve working conditions for Chinese factory workers and put an end to these violations of human rights.


By condemning numerous violations against human rights and the environment, the Pinocchio Awards have grown in importance since they were established in 2008, and they help put pressure on companies to make them change their practices. The scale of the event and its role in the public debate surrounding CSR this year has forced all companies nominated for an award to speak out publicly on the facts that have been reported about them (5).


Juliette Renaud, Corporate Accountability Campaigner at Friends of the Earth France, says: “Just a year ago we were celebrating the proposal of a bill on the due diligence of multinational companies, but pressure from lobby groups kept the government inactive on the subject, and this law has still not been voted or even discussed in Parliament (6). By setting concrete facts against companies’ grand speeches, the Pinocchio Awards are showing this year again that these loopholes are allowing companies to operate with impunity in France and throughout the world.


In the opinion of Fanny Gallois, Campaign Manager at Peuples Solidaires-ActionAid France, “All over the world, men and women are taking action to assert their rights and get decent living and working conditions. By condemning the abuse multinational companies inflict, the Pinocchio Awards give these struggles a voice and call for our rulers to be responsible: it is time to make multinational companies accountable for the negative impact they have on society.


According to Pascale Quivy, Director of CRID: “From year to year, more and more citizens from France and other countries are taking part in voting for the Pinocchio Awards. Our political and economic decision-makers should take this into account; the former by laying down restrictive rules for companies regarding corporate social, environmental and fiscal responsibility, and the latter by doing everything in its power to implement them, just as much on French territory as with their investments abroad.


The Pinocchio Awards are organised in a media partnership with Basta !, the Multinational Observatory and Real World Radio, who have published informative articles and interviews on each of the nominees (7).


Press Contacts:

·    Caroline Prak, Friends of the Earth France – 06 86 41 53 43 / 09 72 43 92 65 – caroline.prak@amisdelaterre.org
·    Fanny Gallois, Peuples Solidaires-ActionAid France – 01 48 58 21 85 / 06 19 89 53 07
·    Pascale Quivy, CRID – 01 44 72 89 76 / 06 15 44 13 44 – p.quivy@crid.asso.fr

 

Notes:
(1) In total, nine companies were nominated. A description of each of the cases reported in 2014 is available here.

 

(2) “One for all and all for me!”: prize awarded to the company which has the most aggressive policy in terms of appropriation, exploitation or destruction of natural resources.
The two other nominees were Total and Crédit Agricole.

(3) “Greener than green”: prize awarded to the company which has led the most abusive and misleading communication campaign in regard to its actual activities.
The two other nominees were EDF and Pur Projet.

(4) “Dirty hands, full wallet”: prize awarded to the company which has the most opaque policy at the financial level (tax evasion, corruption etc.) in terms of lobbying or in its supply chain.
The two other nominees were Perenco and Lyon Turin Ferroviaire.

(5) EDF, GDF Suez, Total, Lyon Turin Ferroviaire, Crédit Agricole and Pur Projet answered Friends of the Earth France directly, whereas Perenco, Shell and Samsung responded via the Business and Human Rights Resource Center. The exchange of letters between the companies and the organisations bringing the cases against them are available here.

 

(6) This bill regarding the due diligence of parent companies and main contractors was proposed by four parliamentary groups and is supported by five main trade union organisations.
The full text of the bill is available here.

 

(7) These articles and interviews are available here.

En partenariat avec CRID Peuples Solidaires

"Shell, GDF Suez et Samsung remportent les Prix Pinocchio 2014 !"

Paris, le 18 novembre 2014 - Après le lancement du vote public le 9 octobre dernier, Les Amis de la Terre, en partenariat avec Peuples Solidaires - ActionAid France et le Centre de Recherche et d'Information pour le Développement (CRID), ont mis fin au suspense lors de la cérémonie de remise des Prix Pinocchio ce soir à La Java (Paris) et ont annoncé les grands vainqueurs de l’édition 2014 : Shell, GDF Suez et Samsung (1).
Cette année, un nouveau record de participation a été atteint : plus de 61 000 votes au total, témoignant de l'indignation croissante des citoyens face aux graves impacts sociaux et environnementaux des activités de multinationales.

 

 

Lauréats Pinocchio 2014

Voir les photos (© Alexandre Devos) et la vidéo (par AlterJT) de la cérémonie de remise des Prix.

 


Shell remporte haut la main le Prix Pinocchio dans la catégorie « Une pour tous, tout pour moi » (2) avec 43 % des votes, pour la multiplication de ses projets de gaz de schiste dans le monde entier, sauf aux Pays-Bas, son pays d'origine, soumis à un moratoire. Alors que cette multinationale, comme les autres grandes compagnies pétrolières, se targue de mener ses opérations en respectant des « principes ambitieux », la réalité constatée sur le terrain, notamment en Argentine et en Ukraine, est bien différente : absence de consultation des populations, puits dans une aire naturelle protégée et sur des terres agricoles, réservoirs d'eaux de forage toxiques à l'air libre, opacité financière, etc.


Dans la catégorie « Plus vert que vert » (3), GDF Suez reçoit le Prix Pinocchio avec 42 % des votes, pour ses « obligations vertes ». Au mois de mai dernier, ce géant énergétique français avait annoncé fièrement avoir émis la plus importante « obligation verte » jamais réalisée par une entreprise privée, récoltant 2,5 milliards d'euros auprès d'investisseurs privés pour financer soi-disant des projets énergétiques propres. Mais quand on y regarde de plus près, aucun critère social et environnemental clair n'est associé à ces obligations « vertes », et l'entreprise n'a pas publié la liste des projets financés. Elle pourrait même utiliser cet argent pour des projets destructeurs tels que des grands barrages, comme celui de Jirau (Brésil) qu'elle a cité en exemple, et continue par ailleurs à investir lourdement dans les énergies fossiles.


Enfin, avec 40 % des votes, le Prix Pinocchio de la catégorie « Mains sales, poches pleines » (4) a été décerné à Samsung, pour les conditions de travail indignes dans les usines qui fabriquent ses produits en Chine : heures de travail excessives, salaires de misère, travail des enfants, etc. Malgré des enquêtes et interpellations répétées de la société civile, et le dépôt d'une plainte en France, ce leader de la high tech s'entête à nier ces accusations. L'entreprise devrait affronter la réalité et mettre en œuvre des mesures concrètes pour améliorer les conditions de travail des ouvriers et ouvrières chinoises, et mettre fin à ces violations de droits.


Dénonçant de nombreuses violations des droits des peuples et de l'environnement, les Prix Pinocchio ont gagné en importance depuis leur création en 2008, et contribuent à faire pression sur les entreprises pour qu'elles changent leurs pratiques. L’ampleur de l’événement et son rôle dans le débat public autour de la RSEE a cette année contraint l’ensemble des entreprises nominées à s'expliquer publiquement sur les faits dénoncés (5).


Juliette Renaud, chargée de campagne sur la Responsabilité sociale et environnementale des entreprises aux Amis de la Terre, commente : « Il y a un an tout juste nous nous félicitions du dépôt d'une proposition de loi sur le devoir de vigilance des multinationales, mais les pressions des lobbies maintiennent le gouvernement dans l'inaction, et cette loi n'a toujours pas été votée, ni même discutée au Parlement (6). En opposant  des faits concrets aux beaux discours des entreprises, les Prix Pinocchio montrent cette année encore que ces vides juridiques permettent aux entreprises d'agir en toute impunité en France et dans le monde ».


Pour Fanny Gallois, responsable des campagnes à Peuples Solidaires-ActionAid France, « Partout dans le monde, des femmes et des hommes se mobilisent pour faire valoir leurs droits et obtenir des conditions de vie et de travail dignes. En dénonçant les abus des multinationales, les Prix Pinocchio se font l’écho de ces luttes et en appellent à la responsabilité de nos gouvernants : il est temps de tenir les multinationales responsables de leurs impacts négatifs ».


Selon Pascale Quivy, déléguée générale du CRID : « D’année en année, les citoyens de notre pays et d'ailleurs sont plus nombreux à participer au vote des prix Pinocchio. Nos décideurs politiques et économiques devraient en tenir compte, les premiers en édictant des règles contraignantes pour les entreprises en matière de responsabilité sociale, environnementale et fiscale, les seconds en mettant tout en œuvre pour les appliquer, tant sur le territoire français que dans leurs investissements à l’étranger ».


Les Prix Pinocchio sont organisés en partenariat média avec Basta !, l'Observatoire des Multinationales et la Radio Monde Réel, qui ont publié des articles d'éclairage et des interviews sur chacun des nominés (7).


Contacts presse :
•    Caroline Prak, Les Amis de la Terre France – 06 86 41 53 43 / 09 72 43 92 65 – caroline.prak@amisdelaterre.org
•    Fanny Gallois, Peuples Solidaires-ActionAid France – 01 48 58 21 85 / 06 19 89 53 07
•    Pascale Quivy, CRID – 01 44 72 89 76 / 06 15 44 13 44 – p.quivy@crid.asso.fr

Notes :
(1) Au total, neuf entreprises étaient nominées. La description de chacun des cas dénoncés en 2014 est disponible ici.

 

(2) « Une pour tous, tout pour moi ! » : prix décerné à l’entreprise ayant mené la politique la plus agressive en terme d’appropriation, de surexploitation ou de destruction des ressources naturelles.
Les deux autres nominés étaient Total et le Crédit Agricole.

(3) « Plus vert que vert » : prix décerné à l’entreprise ayant mené la campagne de communication la plus abusive et trompeuse au regard de ses activités réelles.
Les deux autres nominés étaient EDF et Pur Projet.

(4) « Mains sales, poches pleines » : prix décerné à l’entreprise ayant mené la politique la plus opaque au niveau financier (corruption, évasion fiscale, etc.), en termes de lobbying, ou dans sa chaîne d'approvisionnement.
Les deux autres nominés étaient Perenco et Lyon Turin Ferroviaire.

(5) EDF, GDF Suez, Total, Lyon Turin Ferroviaire, Crédit Agricole et Pur Projet ont répondu directement aux Amis de la Terre, tandis que Perenco, Shell et Samsung ont réagi au travers du Business and Human Rights Resource Center. Les échanges entre les entreprises et les organisations porteuses des cas sont disponibles ici.

 

(6) Cette proposition de loi relative au devoir de vigilance des sociétés mères et des entreprises donneuses d’ordre, a été déposée par quatre groupes parlementaires et est soutenue par cinq centrales syndicales.
Texte de la proposition de loi.

 

(7) Ces articles et interviews sont disponibles ici.